FDA Consumer Update: Dark Chocolate May Not Be Milk Free

From the FDA Consumer Updates site, a warning about dark chocolate; essentially that it may still contain traces of milk.

“If you or someone in your household is allergic to milk, take heed: a recent study by the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) tested 100 dark chocolate products and found that many contained milk. More importantly, you can’t always tell that’s the case simply by reading the food label….Consumers who are allergic to milk should be aware that a high proportion of tested dark chocolates contained milk.”

The only thing missing from this  FDA Consumer Updates site article that would be the most useful to the milk allergic community is what brands were tested and found to have traces of milk when they made claims of milk-free, vegan and/or allergen-free.

Stay safe everyone!


Popular Posts