I was in upstate New York recently and the gluten-free Betty Crocker mixes were up there, just waiting for me, in the cake mix aisle, all four types: chocolate cake, vanilla cake, brownies and chocolate chip cookies. Given what I’ve read on twitter and what Catherine of A Gluten Free Guide said last week over dinner, I chose what seem to be the top two winners: brownie and cookie mix.
But I’m not only a gluten-free girl. Ho no, I have some other questions, like what about tree-nuts in the Canadian gluten-free facility?
I called the Betty Crocker customer service number in Minnesota (the 800 was all automated and too slow) and spoke to a rep. She was able to email General Mills/Betty Crocker’s allergen statement, a portion of which I’ve reprinted below.
“This is the most current information for your needs. If one of our products contains any of the top 8 allergens (peanuts, tree nuts, dairy products, eggs, soy, wheat, crustaceans, and fish) or if it contains sesame, sunflower or mollusks, that ingredient is always listed in the ingredient panel, and also in bold letters just below the list of ingredients. If a product is exposed to any of these allergens in the manufacturing facility the allergen will be listed in bold in the ′Contains Statement′ just below the list of ingredients. This list is your ingredient assurance for that package. It is not intended for other packaging of the same product. Ingredients may vary from one package to another due to product reformulation. If you have allergy concerns, please read each package ingredient panel.”
Alrighty now, so let the Betty Crocker tasting begin.
Have any of you GF/DF/FA/NA/PA/SWF peeps tried it yet?